Do You Need to Fire Your Personal Trainer?

I am going to get up on my soapbox here for a minute…

Sometimes I think I would like to verbally wring some personal trainers necks!

Ok let me go back a bit and start with this………There are some really great personal trainer’s out there helping people reach their fitness goal.  They have had impeccable training, and work with their clients, to formulate a comprehensive plan to assist the client in reaching a goal.  They incorporate cardio training, strength training, and stretching/recovery.   

Now there are also the self trained, maybe went to a “training” seminar, “I know better than anybody”, trainers that scare me.  These “trainers” are telling clients, “don’t stretch, it’s bad for you!”, “you won’t lose fat if you stretch”, “you’ll undo all the weight training if you stretch”,  it’s horrifying!  These same trainers are also telling clients that massage is not good, “you don’t want to relax your muscles, you’ll lose tone”(see my previous blog on tight vs toned muscles), “you’ll lose strength”.  Honestly these so called “trainers” make me want to scream!  Yes, they may get results but at what cost?  These “trainers” are causing injuries to their clients without even realizing it.

Let me refer you to this article, that talks about the massage and stretching benefits after workout…..

http://www.livestrong.com/article/69420-massage-stretching-benefits-after/#page=1

So please, Please, PLEASE do your research on a potential personal trainer.  Find out what your state requires for licensing or certifications.  Do some online checking.  Ask a physical therapist or massage therapist if they have a recommendation.  NOT every “personal trainer” at your local gym is actually a personal trainer, some of them are just enthusiast, that work part time at the gym to get a discounted or free membership.  And some of them may actually know what they are talking about, but that is a small number.  So before you chose to spend your hard earned cash on a personal trainer, make sure they are qualified.

Ok I’ll get off my soapbox now!

4 thoughts on “Do You Need to Fire Your Personal Trainer?

  1. Pingback: I still couldn’t remember my password! | Eating at my Desk

  2. bhmassage

    Wow I totally agree! I can’t believe some of the things I see at the gym. Even watching some trainers showing someone how to life weights can be so wrong. I have to resist the urge to walk over and say “Excuse me, but with that form you’re not even working the right muscle.” Gotta make sure your personal trainers are educated & have a legitimate certification.

    Reply

Leave a comment